100th Year Celebration Timeline


1919:   Founded as the Social Service League United Welfare Drive

1930:   Name Changes to Community Chest

1941:   Name Changes to Iowa City Community Chest

1943:   Name Changes to War-Community Chest   

1958: Name Changes to Community Givers of Iowa City, Coralville, and University Heights

1961:   Roberta Patrick is hired as first half-time Executive Secretary

1968:   Name Changes to United Community Services of Johnson County, Iowa, Inc.

1971:   Name Changes to United Way of Johnson County, Inc.; Linda Glazer hired as first Executive Director.

1972:   Pat Hanrahan replaces Glazer as Executive Director

1977:   Mary Ann (Volm) Madden replaces Hanrahan as Executive Director.

1993:   Teresa McLaughlin replaces Madden as Executive Director

1998:   Beverly Weber replaces McLaughlin as Executive Director

2004:   Connie Benton Wolfe replaces Weber as President and CEO.

2008:   Christine Scheetz replaces Benton Wolfe as President and CEO.

2014:   Name Changes to United Way of Johnson & Washington Counties

2014:   Interim Director, Mary Westbrook appointed

2015:   Katie Knight hired as President and CEO.