History of United Way Johnson & Washington Counties

1919: Founded as the Social Service League United Welfare Drive 

1930: Name Changes to Community Chest  

1941: Name Changes to Iowa City Community Chest  

1943: Name Changes to War-Community Chest  

1958: Name Changes to Community Givers of Iowa City, Coralville, and University Heights

1961: Roberta Patrick is hired as first half-time Executive Secretary

1968: Name Changes to United Community Services of Johnson County, Iowa, Inc.

1971: Name Changes to United Way of Johnson County, Inc.; Linda (Glazer) Toohey hired as first Executive Director.

1972: Patrick Hanrahan named Executive Director

1977: Mary Anne (Volm) Madden named Executive Director.

1993: Teresa McLaughlin named Executive Director

1998: Beverly Weber named Executive Director

2004: Connie Benton Wolfe named President and CEO.

2008: Christine Scheetz named President and CEO.

2013: Name Changes to United Way of Johnson & Washington Counties

2014: Mary Westbrook named Interim President and CEO.

2015: Katie Knight named President and CEO.